Varsity Sailing Team

The College of Charleston Varsity Sailing Team is made up of 60+ sailors who sail a wide variety of boats. About 40 sailors make up the Dinghy Team that compete on Lasers, 420s, FJs, and Sloops. The rest make up the Offshore Team that trains on a Melges 30 (Cougar) and J36 (Soul). The Varsity Sailors are treated like any other varsity team at the College with mandatory team workouts, mandatory study hall hours, mandatory practice and other varsity athlete responsibilities like maintaining an exceptional GPA.

The sailors compete all year round in a Fall season and then a Spring season.

During the Fall season there are a few different national championships:

  • Men’s Singlehanded National Championships in Lasers
  • Women’s Singlehanded National Championships in Laser Radials
  • Sloop Nationals

During the Spring season there is the:

  • Women’s Dinghy National Championship
  • Coed Dinghy National Championship
  • Team Race National Championship

The Fowle trophy is awarded annually to the best overall collegiate sailing team. This is determined by points, accumulated at the 6 national championships. It’s the Sears Cup of sailing.

The Offshore team’s championships are:

  • Keelboat National Championships in the Fall on Navy 44s
  • Port of Los Angeles Harbor Cup in the Spring on Catalina 37s.

Of course these are not the only regattas sailed, as there are multiple groups of sailors traveling almost every weekend. Including these championships we compete in about 55-60 every year, one of the most vigorous schedules in the country. To compete against the top teams we have to travel to many events all around the country.

Our governing body is the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association; our district within the ICSA is the South Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association (SAISA)

Click here for more information on the Varsity Sailing Team here at the College of Charleston.